← Heraldware
DaVinci ResolvevsFinal Cut Pro

TL;DR

Both editors can be bought outright for almost the same money: DaVinci Resolve Studio is listed at $295 and Final Cut Pro at a one-time $299.99. The difference is in the routes in. DaVinci Resolve also publishes a free downloadable build, so the entry cost can be zero, while Final Cut Pro's subscription route is $12.99 a month or $129 a year through Apple Creator Studio, with educator and student pricing at $2.99 a month or $29.99 a year. Blackmagic's page then pushes the buyer towards hardware, with a Speed Editor at $435, a Replay Editor at $559, an Editor Keyboard at $669 and colour panels from $2,319, while Apple's route bundles editing, audio and motion tools into one subscription.

Apple's Final Cut Pro page leads with a subscription and then states the alternatives. Apple Creator Studio is free for 30 days, after which new subscribers pay $12.99 per month or $129 per year, with educator and student subscriptions at $2.99 per month or $29.99 per year. The page also states that Final Cut Pro is available as a one-time purchase for $299.99. Apple's framing is that the subscription bundles more than the single application, and the footer repeats the renewal terms: the plan renews at $12.99 a month or $129 a year depending on the plan selected and renews automatically until cancelled.

Set against each other, the licence decision is nearly a coin toss: $295 against $299.99, both perpetual. What separates them is the entry point and what surrounds the software. DaVinci Resolve has a free build, so a budget of nothing gets you a working editor, and Blackmagic's upsell is hardware you buy when you want it, which is attractive if you want physical controls and unattractive if you do not. Apple's alternative to the one-time price is $12.99 a month, which only wins over the perpetual licence after roughly two years, but that subscription also carries the rest of Apple's creator tools. One caveat we will state plainly: neither vendor's page breaks down which features sit in the free DaVinci build versus Studio, so treat that split as a question for the vendor rather than something we verified here.

Pros & cons

👍 DaVinci Resolve Pros

  • DaVinci Resolve Studio at $295 as a one-time purchase, effectively level with Final Cut Pro's $299.99
  • A free downloadable DaVinci Resolve build, so the software can cost nothing to start
  • No subscription obligation for the Studio licence, and no automatic renewal terms attached to the purchase
  • Optional hardware sold separately rather than bundled, so you only pay for panels or editors if you want them, with a Speed Editor at $435, Replay Editor at $559, Editor Keyboard at $669 and colour panels from $2,319
  • The page prices one purchase per editing seat rather than per month, which makes budgeting for a workstation straightforward
  • Hardware and software come from the same vendor, so the console range is documented on the same page as the application

👎 DaVinci Resolve Cons

  • The hardware ladder is steep and sits right beside the software price: $435 for a Speed Editor and from $2,319 for colour panels
  • The page does not break down which features the free build lacks compared with Studio, so the upgrade case needs a direct question to the vendor
  • There is no subscription option, so the $295 is paid up front rather than monthly
  • Fairlight console pricing, quoted into the tens of thousands for studio consoles, is far beyond what a solo editor will spend, and the page lists it alongside consumer hardware without much separation
  • Support and update terms for the perpetual licence are not set out on the product page
  • Buying through a reseller rather than direct is presented as the route for several of the hardware items

👍 Final Cut Pro Pros

  • One-time purchase of $299.99, essentially the same money as DaVinci Resolve Studio at $295
  • Subscription alternative at $12.99 per month or $129 per year, with a 30-day free trial for new subscribers
  • Educator and student subscriptions at $2.99 per month or $29.99 per year, a fraction of the standard rate
  • The subscription sits under Apple Creator Studio, so it carries more than the single editing application for the same monthly figure
  • Renewal terms are stated plainly in the footer: the plan renews at the selected rate and continues until cancelled
  • Regional pricing is published in dollars with the annual figure shown next to the monthly one, so the cost of committing is visible

👎 Final Cut Pro Cons

  • The subscription renews automatically until cancelled, so the total depends on how long you stay subscribed
  • At $12.99 a month the subscription passes the $299.99 one-time price after roughly two years
  • Educator and student pricing at $2.99 a month is restricted to those groups rather than being a general discount
  • No free build is published alongside the paid options, only a 30-day trial for new subscribers
  • Feature-level differences between the subscription and the one-time purchase are not itemised on the pricing block
  • Buying outright is presented as a secondary option behind the subscription, which suggests where the vendor expects most customers to land

Side by side

FeatureDaVinci ResolveFinal Cut Pro
Free optionA free downloadable DaVinci Resolve buildNo free build published; a 30-day free trial for new subscribers
One-time priceDaVinci Resolve Studio at $295$299.99 as a one-time purchase
Subscription priceNo subscription published on the product page$12.99 per month or $129 per year through Apple Creator Studio
Student and educator pricingNot stated on the product page$2.99 per month or $29.99 per year
Bundled applicationsResolve covers editing, colour, Fairlight audio and Fusion work inside one applicationThe subscription sits under Apple Creator Studio, which carries more than the editing application
Hardware sold alongsideSpeed Editor $435, Replay Editor $559, Editor Keyboard $669, colour panels from $2,319, Fairlight consoles from $1,525Not listed on the pricing block reviewed here
Renewal termsOne-time purchase; no renewal terms stated on the pageAutomatic renewal until cancelled, at the selected monthly or annual rate
Break-even on subscription$295 up front, never renewed$12.99 a month passes $299.99 after roughly two years
Feature split, free versus paidNot broken down on the product pageNot itemised between subscription and one-time purchase
Best fitEditors who want a free start or a perpetual licence and may add physical controls laterEditors who want a perpetual licence or a monthly subscription that also carries Apple's wider creator suite

Verdict

Pick DaVinci Resolve if

Choose DaVinci Resolve when you want a free start and hardware options

DaVinci Resolve is the stronger option if you want to begin at zero cost and decide later what to buy. A free build is downloadable from the same page that lists Studio at $295, so the licence decision can be deferred, and when you do buy, the price is a one-time payment with no automatic renewal. Blackmagic's own page shows where the money goes afterwards: a Speed Editor at $435, a Replay Editor at $559, an Editor Keyboard at $669 and colour panels from $2,319, all optional. That hardware ladder is the main caveat, since it is presented prominently next to a $295 licence. We also did not verify from the page which features the free build omits, so confirm that split before relying on it.

Pick Final Cut Pro if

Choose Final Cut Pro when a perpetual licence or a monthly bundle suits you

Final Cut Pro's pitch is a familiar one: $299.99 once, $12.99 a month, or $129 a year, with a 30-day trial and student and educator subscriptions at $2.99 a month or $29.99 a year. Against DaVinci Resolve Studio at $295 the one-time prices are effectively identical, so the choice comes down to the surrounding terms. The subscription renews automatically until cancelled and passes the perpetual price after about two years at the monthly rate, but it also brings in Apple Creator Studio's wider set of tools. If you want a perpetual licence and you are already inside Apple's ecosystem, or you qualify for the student rate, this is the simpler route.

What the vendors say, and what we did not measure

DaVinci Resolve: vendor-published claims

  • Blackmagic states that DaVinci Resolve is available as a free download
  • Blackmagic lists DaVinci Resolve Studio at $295 as a one-time purchase

DaVinci Resolve: caveats

  • Blackmagic's page does not itemise which features separate the free build from Studio
  • Hardware priced from $435 to well over $20,000 appears alongside the software on the same page

Final Cut Pro: vendor-published claims

  • Apple states that Final Cut Pro is available as a one-time purchase for $299.99
  • Apple states that educator and student subscriptions are $2.99 per month or $29.99 per year

Final Cut Pro: caveats

  • Apple states that the plan renews automatically until cancelled
  • Apple's only free route is a 30-day trial for new subscribers

Neither Blackmagic Design nor Apple publishes third-party review data we are willing to restate as fact, and we did not run either application. Every figure here comes from the two vendors' own product pages as published when this comparison was written. The lists headed 'vendor-published claims' are the vendors' own statements, not user reviews.

Who Should Use Which?

Use DaVinci Resolve if you...

  • Editors who want to start with a free build and pay only when the project demands it
  • Studios that prefer a one-time licence for colour grading workstations rather than recurring subscriptions
  • Cuts that would benefit from physical controls, with a Speed Editor at $435 or an Editor Keyboard at $669
  • Facilities that need colour panel workflows and are willing to price panels starting at $2,319

Use Final Cut Pro if you...

  • Editors who prefer a one-time $299.99 purchase with no renewal to track
  • Anyone who wants the option of $12.99 a month rather than a lump sum, with the annual rate at $129
  • Students and educators who qualify for $2.99 a month or $29.99 a year
  • Editors who want one subscription covering more than a single editing application

FAQ

Which costs less, DaVinci Resolve or Final Cut Pro?

On perpetual licences they are nearly identical: DaVinci Resolve Studio is $295 and Final Cut Pro is a one-time $299.99. DaVinci Resolve also publishes a free downloadable build, which Final Cut Pro does not. Final Cut Pro's alternative is $12.99 a month, which passes the $299.99 one-time price after roughly two years.

Is there a subscription for DaVinci Resolve?

Blackmagic's product page lists a free build and DaVinci Resolve Studio at $295 as a one-time purchase, and does not publish a subscription option on that page. Final Cut Pro publishes both routes: $12.99 a month or $129 a year, and $299.99 as a one-time purchase.

How much do the extra controls cost?

Blackmagic prices them on the same page as the software: $435 for a Speed Editor, $559 for a Replay Editor, $669 for an Editor Keyboard, and colour panels from $2,319, with Fairlight consoles starting at $1,525 and rising through modular studio systems. Apple's pricing block for Final Cut Pro lists software only.

What happens at the end of the Final Cut Pro subscription term?

Apple states in the footer that the plan renews at $12.99 a month or $129 a year depending on the plan selected and renews automatically until cancelled. DaVinci Resolve's $295 is a one-time purchase with no equivalent renewal language on the product page.

Is there a student discount?

Apple publishes educator and student subscriptions at $2.99 a month or $29.99 a year for Final Cut Pro through Apple Creator Studio. Blackmagic's product page does not state a student price for DaVinci Resolve.

What do I not get in the free DaVinci Resolve build?

We could not verify that split. Blackmagic's page presents the free download and Studio at $295 without breaking down the feature differences, so anyone relying on the free build for a specific capability should confirm it with the vendor rather than assume it is included.

Spot an outdated price or feature? Let us know and we'll verify it.

Heraldware analysis engine

reviewed · data sourced from official product pages · sources: blackmagicdesign.com, apple.com